Irish Jack- here and there

By Jack Ireland
I would like to get in my late Friday afternoon picks on three key scholastic football games tonight and one on Saturday.
I didn’t get to my blog on Thursday, but I had something pretty special on my mind.
I was inducted into the Salesianum School Hall of Fame at a ceremony and reception at the school on Thursday.
I was joined by Harry Alexander (athletics), Brigadere Gen. Hugh Broomall, Rev. Richard DiLillio and the late Clyde Taggerty.Clyde’s son Joe Taggart. accepted the honor for his late father, from the Salesianum class of 1925.
Alexander is the only other person besides the late Dominic (Dim) Montero to start all four years in football at Salesianum. He went on to play three years at Notre Dame, including a major role at defensive tackle on the Irish 1966 national championship team.
I was chosen under the category of arts, culture and entertainement. That would come under my accomplishmentds in 40 plus years as a sportswriter. The first six were spent at the Seaford Leader weekly paper and the next 35 ;lus with the News Journal.
I retired in February of this year.
I was honored to receive this recognition and overcome with emotion Thursday night.
I graduated from Sallies in 1965. At times during my career I received criticism that I favored Salesianum in my writing. That comment offended me then and would bother me even more now. Sallies is a special place for me and my family. My dad was in the Sallies class of 1925.
However, I tried to always be fair when I was on the job, covering Sallies or any other teams.

Quickie picks for tonight’s big three scholastic football games.
Middletown (8-1) at Newark (9-0). 7 – I’m tempted to go with speddy Middletoewn here, but quarterback Taylor Reynolds shifts my thinking sliughtly in favor of the Yellowjackets. Should be an offensive track meet. Newark 34- 27
Salesianum (7-2) vs St. Mark’s (5-4) at Middletown. 7 – T Middletown and Newark is the game of the week and rightly so, but St Mark’s-Sallies is as intense and good a local rivalry as any in the state. Intense, emotional and hotly contested.

Sals ,must balance out their offense – running and passing. Senior Jerome Stanley is the most underrated running back in the state. If sophomore quarterback Troy Reeder plays with poise and shows off that strong arm at the right time, Salesianum can control the game to a degree. win. St. Mark’s has too many offensive weapons, around quraerback Jeff Ziemba and back T.J. Yeninis. to get into an offensive shootout with. Sallies 24-21
Dover (6-3) at Caesar Rodney (3-6), 7:30. Like Sallies- St. Mark’s, throw out the records here. Dover needs this game to insure a tournament spot. CR plays spoilers in my book. CR 27-26.
Saturday
St. Elizabeth (6-2) at Achmere (8-1). 10:30 a.m.
Eric and Andre Patton, along with all everything junior Adam Szczerba might be just a tad too much for Archmere. Rematch of last year’s Division II finals, so look for the Auks to be going all out to revenge that lopsided loss in 2010.
. Szczerba’s foot the difference? St. Elizabeth 23-21.

Leave a Reply

